Friday, March 6, 2015

Italy's UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Did you know that Italy counts 50 UNESCO World Heritage Sites within its borders, the most of any country on the World Heritage List! 

Italy’s World Heritage Sites are well-known. The Dolomites; The City of Verona; Ferrara and the Po River Delta; the Historic Centers of San Gimignano, Florence and Rome; Hadrian's Villa and the Villa D’Este at Tivoli; the archaeological area of Pompeii, Herculaneum and Torre Annunziata; the Sassi (rupestrian architecture and churches) of Matera; the Amalfi Coast and the Aeolian Islands are just some among many others.

All 50 sites have been, at one time or another, travel destinations for those seeking out history, art and culture in the "Bel Paese".

Renewed efforts by the Institutes to preserve these sites include the call to everyone to get to know them better. Here, you can begin a virtual journey into some of the most fascinating among them, those that evoke an experience rich in life, passions, and dreams.

For the full list of UNESCO world heritage sites visit:
Source: Enit

1 comment:

I vostri commenti alimentano il nostro blog. Your comments feed our blog.